Spinning Babydoll Wool

I started spinning up the Babydoll wool from MyLittleSheep on Etsy. The wool is prepared beautifully as 1 oz roving rolls. I think I purchased 3 or 4 oz. of wool from a sheep called Jasmine. I’ll definitely buy from her again! jasmine

I wanted to try Babydoll for a few reasons. I like the size of the sheep and as the goal is to some day have a few sheep, I’m trying to narrow down what breed makes the most sense.  So there was a little extra incentive to try this adorable little breed. Secondly, I want to work my way img_2131around different breeds just to see the differences and which ones really are my favorites for different purposes.

The first thing that I noticed is that this breed of sheep (given the variations of individual sheep) that it isn’t quite as soft as I’m used to. Not that it’s not soft. It’s softer than the Romney that I’ve spun previously. img_2107Another factor is that I’ve been spinning Alpaca and Angora. Which, spinning anything after that might feel a little rougher.

The second thing that I noticed is that this is spinning up so easily. I’m spinning long draw and these batts almost spin themselves. They are spinning up fast and even. Really fun to spin.

To wrap it up, I don’t think I would use it for gloves or socks. I prefer softer for those purposes. But for a sweater, shawl, poncho, it would be perfect. Not as soft as BFL, but not as rough as Romney. I have to say, I’m really enjoying spinning this Babydoll wool. And I look forward img_2128to trying it again!

img_2108

About The Blissful Bear

An emerging cottontail cottage farm
This entry was posted in Spinning, Wool Trials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

