Angora Shearing Day

Daisy had her 9 month shearing this last weekend. She is SO much happier with the ability to move around. Actually, I think she’s barely stopped moving. And only 2 days in and she’s already growing it back. 

Using the link in the IAGARB website, I made her a coat with some heavy duty fleece fabric from Joanne Fabrics. Actually, I made three sizes since I really couldn’t estimate the size I’d need. But the large worked fine and by day 2 she’s almost ready to be out of it. 

Her fiber, I have to say, is stunning. It is as soft as a cloud, the staple length is impressive at approx 4 inches and the yield was over 480 grams (or over 16 oz). Which is really amazing to me for only 3 month’s of growth.  

My plan was to mix it with Merino. But, I’m a little torn and may just spin it as is. 

There’s certainly enough to test both ways. Which alone will be a great experiment. I’ll probably crochet it up in a simple scarf as soon as I’m done spinning up some glitzy yarn to get up on my ETSY site. I guess I better get started though afterall, It will grow back fast! 

About The Blissful Bear

An emerging cottontail cottage farm
This entry was posted in Farming, The Farm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

