Shearing Sheep

I was lucky enough to spend the day at Meridian Jacobs at Sheep Shearing. That was fun! Robin has the processes dialed in and the experienced Shearer, John, was really amazing to watch. I worked some at the skirting table and although the process was more guess work for me than knowledge, it was great to have the opportunity for so much hands on. I have managed to enroll in the wool classing school at UC Davis after being on the wait list. I have high hopes in the knowledge coming out of that. Anyway, back to shearing. 

The rest of my time was in with the sheep. I learned about sheep; 

  1. Sheep do NOT go where you want them to go …just because you want them to go there. 
  2. Sheep are stubborn
  3. Sheep are very heavy
  4. Sheep can’t be reasoned with
  5. Did I mention that sheep go where they want to go?

It was actually quite a workout. With several sheep in the “staging area” I could more-or-less push one into position, place my hand under her jaw, and with one thigh against her front and one against her side, attempt to keep her still and near the gate waiting as she’s next in line to be sheared. Oh sure it sounds easy, but I’m not sure that I weight much more than some of those sheep. And, they have the advantage of horns. But for the most part, and with the help of the experienced “wranglers” I got the hang of it and the sheep, for the most part, relented. 

Vanna on the right

One sheep stood out to me, Vanna. She was young, small and sweet. So, I knew that was the fleece for me! It’s not exactly the most educated way to pick a fleece. But actually she did have a beautiful one and I couldn’t be happier. I’m looking forward to spinning it up!

Vanna being sheared

About The Blissful Bear

An emerging cottontail cottage farm
This entry was posted in Farming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

