Stitches West 2017

While I was only able to go for one day, I packed as much as I could into that one day. 

The traffic was…well, Bay Area Traffic on a Friday….grueling. So, that did add four hours to the day. 

But worth it!

The class “Stitch & Click: Photographing your Fibers by Shannon & Jason Mullett-Bowlsby was fantastic. I really didn’t know what to expect….but they exceeded whatever it was. The amount of tips and tricks was worth it alone. But, they also took the time to help each of us get the best pictures of our projects. 

I even played with the very close lense that I had…Fun!


Cecilia Ho’s Welt Felt Soap & Pod Vessel was at the end of the day. So admittedly we were all tired, but we  learned how to wet felt and although I had tried it before, with her help it was a success! I’m planning on doing more of it. I just need a little time in my day. 

The marketplace was…well…I went through it three times because I just couldn’t get enough. I splurged on a new boat shuttle with the workmanship irresistable. I picked up a cute project bag from Front Range Bags, an exotic wood threading hook from Clemes & Clemes (and drooled over the drum carders), and …yes….I said I wouldn’t but I did…fiber. Okay, but in my defense; Isn’t it amazing!? I picked it up in this pink and a stunning silver. And I can justify it…sort of. 
I have about 10 oz of dark grey bamboo, which is wonderfully silky, but NOT fun to spin. I’ve been meaning to blend it with something…so, why not try this already blended bamboo to see if it’s worth the time to break out the blending board and start…yep, it is. It’s a little slippery as you would expect bamboo to be, but the addition of wool makes it more fun and less work to spin. So far it’s spinning up very nice!

After Stitches West my todo list is a little longer, I need to take pictues of several finished skeins, I want to spin up the bamboo blends, and I have some felted soaps and bags that I want to start, but that’s not a bad problem to have 🙂

About The Blissful Bear

An emerging cottontail cottage farm
This entry was posted in Felting, Shows & Demos, Spinning, Wet Felt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

