Black Sheep Gathering

Black Sheep Gathering in Eugene, Oregon was just a few weeks ago. I have to say, it was worth every penny and every bit of time. Not only was the fiber festival great, the scenery in Western Oregon can’t be beat. 

The drive up wasn’t too bad from the California Bay Area. (the drive home seemed much longer).

Friday morning started with a workshop on spinning silk with Shelia January. Not only was she very knowledgeable, it was a fun class. It was nicely structured with a good balance of time to experiment and try the different silk types, information about the types of silk, and hands on help. A very well done class. I was a little intimidated by silk and wasn’t sure my little Kiwi wheel could go quick enough to make it happen (I’m a slow treadler) But it, and I, did just fine. Of course I picked up a few silk hankies at the marketplace afterwards to play with when I got home. 

Saturday afternoon was more of an art yarn spinning class from Laurie Weinsoft. It was a much less structured class. I wish there had been more structure, help, and demonstration. It was certainly a free-form time for experimentation. And, as much as I wished it had been more informative, I’ve have used the techniques since I’ve been home. 

Sunday morning was Judith MacKenzie’s spinning Shetland. I was excited not only because Shetland is one of the breeds that I’m considering keeping, but because…well…because it’s Judith MacKenzie. In actuality I was expecting to be a little disappointed. After all, who could possibly live up to all of that hype. As it turns out Judith MacKenzie can, that’s who. Being an introvert there are few people, that I don’t know well personally, that I would want to spend a lot of time with. She is definitely an exception. The amount of knowledge she has on sheep, spinning, history, etc. is mind-blowing. Watching her spin fine yarn was stunning. And the techniques that she showed, just as afterthoughts from spinning, to hand carding, to skirting was the type of information that you spend years trying to find. Her class was well organized with hands-on, instruction, and her insights alone were worth the drive. I have no doubt that I’ll sign up for any class that she offers. 

Sunday afternoon was Sarah Anderson’s success in Plying. Admittedly, it was hard for any class to both follow Judith’s class, and be at the tail end of a long three day weekend. But I was looking forward to taking a class from her. Sarah was definitely knowledgeable, talented, and had a wonderful way of explaining the energy in yarn. We had lots of hands-on and she certainly seemed like one of the nicest people that you could meet. Honestly, I don’t know if my plying is any better. But her instruction was really very good. I would love to take another class from her. I have no doubt that a technique class on something along the lines of core spinning or boucle would be fantastic from her! 

The marketplace was addictive…perhaps too addictive. I had headed up with a list of things to buy, and of course picked up a few extras. I was happy to find some Santa Cruz sheep fiber. I’ve been wanting to try this since Wendy from Shaggy Bear mentioned that she would have some. 

I not only picked more fiber than I really needed, but broke down and bought a spindle. And although I have resisted the drop spindle, I have to admit, I’m having a lot of fun with it. 

My marketplace highlight was picking up my Clemes and Clemes mini drum carder. I absolutely love it! Sweet and funny Gynna helped me play with it while the guys were busy teaching a class and I was thrilled to leave Black Sheep with it. The first thing I carded when I got home was a mix of my German Angora and Merino. It did a fantastic job with it. I’m having a great time spinning it up during Tour de’ Fleece. The carder is the perfect size to fit in my fiber studio/rabbitry. 

My unexpected surprise was being able to show one of Robin’s Meridian Jacobs sheep! I was pretty nervous, convinced that she (the sheep, not Robin. 😉 ) was going to get away from me in the ring. But Robin did a great job of showing us how to handle them in the ring and my cooperative sheep did a lovely job of showing herself and even won first place. Honestly, I still have no idea what I was doing…but I certainly had a GREAT time doing it! Meridian Jacobs took first in a couple of divisions. I’m really not surprised though. Robin really is a remarkable shepardess and her sheep and their fleeces reflect it. I certainly have a ton of respect for both her kindness and abilities….and her sweet sheep!

The last surprise was the wonderful people. I was shocked at how many Bay Area people were there. It seems like half of the Treadles to Threads spinning guild was there. I ran into a fellow student from our Wool Classing School, a few people from farm club, and made a few new friends. It really was a nice reminder of what a great group of people the fiber world is made up of. 

 I’m already looking forward to next year’s Black Sheep Gathering!

About The Blissful Bear

An emerging cottontail cottage farm
This entry was posted in Farming, Shows & Demos, Spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

